RSS Feed

Honey-Thyme Mashed Butternut Squash

I bought a butternut squash last weekend and never got around to cooking it. Since I skipped the local markets this weekend, I was thankful to have it on-hand to cook up tonight. But I didn’t want to make soup and I can’t make a pasta dish on my current diet, so I decide to cook it up and mash it like potatoes instead.

Using this recipe for guidance, I did the following:

Ingredients:

1 butternut squash
2 tsps local honey
1 tbsp olive oil
1 teaspoon fresh thyme
Salt and pepper to taste

Peel and cube the squash. Boil the cubes for 20 minutes or until tender. Drain and mash with honey, oil, thyme and salt and pepper.

The thyme I used came out of my backyard and is quite lemony. It was really good in this dish! I served mine alongside these steamed mussels with lemon, onion and wine (and thyme, which is where I got the idea to add thyme to the squash).

About baysideresearch

I am a genealogist based on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. I also like food and try to eat as locally and sustainably as possible. I have blogs about both!

One response »

  1. I LOVE butternut squash, and am very into recipes that help me take advantage of my thyme plants’ crazy growth. Thanks for sharing. Sounds great!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

