RSS Feed

The Haul: Founding Fathers Edition

I spent this past weekend in the area around Charlottesville with family and so didn’t get to hit the usual Easton-area markets. I did get to visit Monticello for the first time and bought seeds there. I picked up a butterfly-attracting flower mix and then some carrot seeds to try (not sure if I’ll try to plant those now or in the spring).

I was inspired to buy the seeds after wandering around the gardens that surround Monticello. There were edibles of every kind imaginable in the vegetable plots pictured below — beans, squash, melons, peppers, tomatoes, carrots, herbs, you name it. My aunt and I asked one of the volunteers tending the garden what happens to all of that food. She said some of it is simply used to harvest seeds for next year’s planting. The employees get to take some home and some of it is served at the visitor center cafe.

It is so neat to think the varieties pictured below are the very same grown on the land and eaten by Thomas Jefferson. The only reason that I didn’t buy more vegetable seeds is that I had such rotten luck with seeds this past spring. We’ll see how the carrots do.

Vegetables growing at Monticello.

Some of the squash growing in the plots were longer than my arm!

About baysideresearch

I am a genealogist based on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. I also like food and try to eat as locally and sustainably as possible. I have blogs about both!

Leave a Reply

