RSS Feed

The Haul: Pre-Tailgate Edition (Plus Ponderings on Burger Toppings)

Yesterday, I skedaddled to the farmer’s market right as it began because soon I was off to College Park to tailgate before the Terps’ Homecoming game.

Here’s what I bought:

  • 2 pounds maple pork sausage
  • 1 pound hot Italian sausage
  • 2 green bell peppers
  • 2 turnips*
  • 1 pint cherry tomatoes
  • 2 cucumbers
  • 1 pint mushrooms
  • smoked salmon salad
  • smoked mussels**

* I’ve never eaten a turnip (to my knowledge) and definitely have never cooked them. I’m thinking of using what I bought in a soup with sausage and kale.

** The mussels were an afterthought, for sharing at the tailgate. I admit that I ate a third of them myself during said tailgate. I had a few more upon returning home and finished off what was leftover for breakfast this morning.

Musings on Burger Toppings

Fresh sauteed onions and mushrooms.

I’ve been eating a lot of burgers lately. Given my dietary restrictions, burgers (without the bun) are one of the safest things for me to eat when I’m out at restaurants. They’re also really easy to prepare for a quick meal at home. Without the bun and usual condiments (which often contain MSG), the other toppings served on the burger take on even more importance.

Therefore, I was very disappointed when I ordered a mushroom burger at lunch the other day and instead of being served with sauteed mushrooms, it came out with canned mushrooms on top of it instead. Bleck!

Today for lunch, I added some fried onions, sauteed fresh mushrooms and  chopped bacon to my own homemade Angus burger. Redemption!

Yes, there is a burger under there.

Garden Update

I am thinking of ripping up the hostas that dominate my sunniest front bed and using that space for planting squash next summer. It will certainly be a different look, and I’ll need to put up a sign so that my neighbors don’t let their dogs use the bed as a bathroom anymore. But I think it’s the best use of the space. Besides, squash have large, green leaves and I think will be just as good for ground cover as the huge hostas that are there now. I think the planting of these particular hostas in my south-facing front yard with no shade, was misguided anyhow. Hostas are shade-loving. Squash plants will appreciate the full-sun exposure much more.

The more I think about it, the more I think that our front yards are more often than not a waste of time, energy and fertile ground. If I had more resources, I’d even go so far as to till up the small patches of grass that make up my tiny front yard to install raised beds of vegetables and herbs instead. Right now, it’s too impractical, but I’m not ruling it out for the future.

About baysideresearch

I am a genealogist based on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. I also like food and try to eat as locally and sustainably as possible. I have blogs about both!

Leave a Reply

