RSS Feed

The Haul: Christmas Clam Edition

DSCN4181Yesterday, I returned to the Easton open-air farmer’s market for the first time in a few weeks. It’s smaller now, but it was still hopping. Here’s what I bought:

  • Maple sausage
  • Sweet onion
  • Garlic
  • Fuji apples
  • Chamomile tea
  • Christmas wreath

Then I stopped by the seafood market and picked up a dozen littleneck clams, a pound of wild salmon and a lemon. I found this recipe for steamed mussels and clams. I didn’t have a lot of the ingredients (including the mussels), so I made a lot of substitutions.  I had to make my own cocktail sauce, but didn’t have horseradish, so I added hot chinese mustard. The sauce ended up pretty ketchup-y, but was still good. I don’t usually have butter in the house, so olive oil stood in for that in the other sauce. The dish was really pretty and tasted pretty good too. The juxtaposition of the red and green sauces is perfect for this time of year.

 

DSCN4179

There is a new type of farmshare in town that is really neat. Eating Out of the Box has both medium and large boxes on offer and they gather produce from various farms in the area. I get mine delivered. The boxes become available in the middle of the week, which is nice because that’s about the time I run out of fresh stuff from the weekend market. I’ve tried it twice and gotten some really good stuff including lemongrass, Asian pears and all kinds of greens. This week, joi choi arrived (a larger version of bok choi).

The thing I love about farmshares is that you get ingredients you wouldn’t normally buy and so you learn to cook new dishes. I’m still trying to find something to do with the huge daikon radish that arrived this week.

About baysideresearch

I am a genealogist based on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. I also like food and try to eat as locally and sustainably as possible. I have blogs about both!

One response »

  1. Hi Missy. I can recommend this recipe for carrot and daikon refrigerator pickles: http://www.simplyrecipes.com/recipes/vietnamese_daikon_and_carrot_pickles/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

