RSS Feed

Gin and Ginger Toddy

I’ve been battling a sore throat since yesterday afternoon, mainly by drinking lots of hot liquid. The effects of hot tea and honey cannot be discounted when you are sick. Then there is the hot toddy. I’m not exactly sure what the benefit is of adding alcohol to tea, but far be it from me to question years and years of home remedy knowledge.

Most hot toddy recipes also call for adding lemon juice to the tea. I’m not the biggest fan of this. But then I came across the instructions for a concoction in Washingtonian Magazine that sounded pretty palatable and gave me inspiration for the following.

Gin and Ginger Toddy

  • 1 cup water
  • 1/4-1/2  tsp freshly grated ginger
  • tea of your choice (I used mint for this)
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • squeeze of lime juice
  • shot of gin (or your spirit of choice)

Boil the water and the ginger together (I nuke mine; sneer if you will). Steep your tea. Stir in the honey, lime juice and gin. Sip and inhale the vapors.

I chose gin for this because I have Tanqueray with lime in more abundance than I do whiskey or rum right now. I wouldn’t normally have thought to put gin in a hot beverage, but found precedent for it while doing a bit of hot toddy research yesterday.

About baysideresearch

I am a genealogist based on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. I also like food and try to eat as locally and sustainably as possible. I have blogs about both!

One response »

  1. Now I wanna get sick so I can have one. 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

