RSS Feed

Ooh, Lookie!

avm-book-coverI just happened to visit the web site for Animal, Vegetable, Miracle by Barbara Kingsolver and found that they’ve done a sweet redesign. Check it out!

In case you didn’t already know, this is the book that started it all for me. The gist is that Kingsolver and her family decide to try and raise, grow and trade for everything they eat for an entire year. It is quite an endeavor, but it inspired me to put more thought into what I buy and where I buy it.

Since reading the book, I’ve participated in farmshares and spend more money at local farmer’s markets than I do at the grocery store. I started growing my own herbs and vegetables, bought and started using a chest freezer and dehydrator, and started this blog.

If you haven’t read Animal, Vegetable, Miracle yet, I highly recommend it. Kingsolver is a wonderful writer and the trials and tribulations of her family during that year are both inspiring, funny and eye-opening. You can purchase the book (and support this blog) on Amazon or at your local book seller.

About baysideresearch

I am a genealogist based on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. I also like food and try to eat as locally and sustainably as possible. I have blogs about both!

Leave a Reply

