RSS Feed

The Haul: Field Trip Edition

bison2I used up the rest of my bison meat a couple of weeks ago, so I ventured out to SB Farms in Hurlock today to pick up some more. I bought ground bison, a chuck roast and some jerky–enough to get me through until the open-air Easton Farmer’s Market reopens on April 13. Farmer Bill Edwards was kind enought to give me a little booklet with recipes, including one for bison bbq, which I intend to make out of the chuck roast. I took some photos while I was out there:

jiggs

The resident greeter at the farm.

eagles

Two bald eagles have a nest on the farm as well.

bison

In other haul news, Eating Out of the Box has started up again in Easton and they now offer a la carte options! This week, I ordered baby carrots and two kinds of breakfast sausage. I supplemented this with kale, lettuce and salad turnips that I bought earlier this morning from Provident Organic Farm’s stand in front of Rise Up Coffee.

About baysideresearch

I am a genealogist based on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. I also like food and try to eat as locally and sustainably as possible. I have blogs about both!

Leave a Reply

