RSS Feed

Chemistry of a R̶o̶o̶t̶ Beer Float

100_4830 A few weeks ago, I tried Southern Tier’s Choklat stout at a beer tasting. It was a-mazing. Never before had a beer evoked memories of childhood* as its subtle hints of Hershey’s syrup did.

I knew what I had to do.

A beer ice cream float.

My friend Brian recommended trying mint-chocolate chip ice cream. That’s my favorite ice cream flavor, so that sounded perfect. I ended up blending my own mint ice cream using peppermint patties and vanilla ice cream (all the mint ice cream I found, even at the organic grocery store, had “natural flavors” or MSG in it).

100_4825The ice cream tasted awesome.

The beer tasted awesome.

The two together… not so much.

But I was undeterred. The following night (last night), I tried again, but with the plain ol’ vanilla ice cream.

Magic.

100_4834

Now, a word of caution. Adding sugar to beer causes a very bubbly reaction. If you try this at home (and I recommend that you do), leave plenty of room in the glass for the foam that will ensue (not unlike in a root beer float).

Bonus pic of chopped up mint patties:

100_4824*Well, except for some crappy beers that remind me of the mostly flat half-bottle of my dad’s Michelob that I drank when I was 5. (Obviously, I was too young to know any better. I mean, Michelob? Really?)

About baysideresearch

I am a genealogist based on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. I also like food and try to eat as locally and sustainably as possible. I have blogs about both!

Leave a Reply

