RSS Feed

How to Eat for Free (Occasionally)

It pays to go to farmer’s markets and to get to know the farmers! Yesterday, I scored free hamburgers (and really good hamburgers at that) and a ton of slightly bruised tomatoes. Between that and zucchini that I grew myself, my dinner tonight was practically free!

Thanks to Kim at Black Bottom Farm for the free burgers — they *are* really good. Kim was kind enough to offer me the burgers after I also procured some of her bulk ground beef and breakfast sausage patties — those are a breakfast staple for me now. I ended up grilling the burger patties this evening. They are perfect!

When I mentioned to another farmer that I was planning on freezing tomatoes for use later, she offered me a bunch of her slightly bruised produce to go along with my purchase. Those bruises won’t matter when I process the tomatoes into sauce later. Score!

This isn’t the first time I’ve gotten food for free simply by chatting with one of the vendors about my plans for their food. It helps to be working with an item that is in over-abundance (like tomatoes right now).

I didn’t have to ask for these freebies, but I have invested time to talk with each of these farmers in the past. I even visited Black Bottom Farm not too long ago (read my post about the farm here).

Go ahead and give it a try. You’ve got nothing to lose by learning more about the food you eat by talking with the people who grow it for you!

Garden Update

I think I’ve harvested the last of my zucchini. There are still blossoms on my lone zucchini plant, but the bulk of the plant is looking pretty rough. My cucumber plant still has tons of blossoms on it though, so I hope it will keep producing.

A critter now truly has been after my baby pie pumpkin plant, so I found a recipe for rabbit repellant made from cayenne pepper, hot sauce, water and dish soap (just a little) and I sprayed that on the plants today, including on the sole little pumpkin that is nestled between two marigolds (the only reason it’s still around, I think). I have two huge gooseneck pumpkins growing by my garage.

My tomato plants also don’t look that great but are still bearing fruit. I need to cut back some other straggly plants that are past their prime and think about seeds to plant for the fall. I want to plant peas, more lettuce and kale. I’m thinking of transplanting the rosemary out of my VegTrug so that I can completely refresh the soil in that before doing anymore plants in it. The kale in there is looking anemic. I might wait for the basil growing in that container to die off first though…

I’m also already dreaming about what to plant next spring. I want to add at least one raised bed to my yard — I’m thinking lots more beans, some melons and plenty more squash plants.

About baysideresearch

I am a genealogist based on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. I also like food and try to eat as locally and sustainably as possible. I have blogs about both!

Leave a Reply

